The George Washington University

The George Washington University

The George Washington University is one of the leading privately run research-intensive educational institutions in the U.S. It is renowned all over the world for having some of the best degree programs in international affairs, politics, medicine and law. The university was founded in 1821 as the Columbian College, but was later renamed as The George Washington University in the honor of the first president of the US. The largest educational institution in Washington, D.C. aims to provide quality undergraduate, graduate, and post-graduate degree qualifications to local, out-of-state and international students from various countries around the world.

Student Enrollment  

The George Washington University has approximately twenty-four thousand students enrolled in its various undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate level degree programs. Over ten thousand students enroll in the university’s popular undergraduate programs every year, and some thirteen thousand post-graduate students choose the east coast educational institute for their master’s and doctorate studies.

Degree Programs Offered   

The George Washington University offers exceptional undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate degree qualifications in over eighty-seven majors including renowned degrees in legal studies, medicine, international relations and political science.

The university’s academic structure is divided into twelve undergraduate and graduate schools.

Undergraduate & Graduate Schools of The George Washington University

  1. Columbian College of Arts and Sciences
  2. School of Media and Public Affairs
  3. School of Business
  4. Elliot School of International Affairs
  5. School of Public Health and Health Services
  6. School of Engineering and Applied Science

Graduate Schools of The George Washington University

  1. Graduate School of Political Management
  2. Graduate School of Public Policy and Public Administration
  3. Medical School
  4. Law School
  5. Graduate School of Education and Human Development

Accreditation Status

The George Washington University is accredited by the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools to administer and award undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate degrees in the U.S. Furthermore, the university is also an official member of the U.S. based organization, College Board.

Campus Locations

The George Washington University’s main campus is located in Foggy Bottom area of downtown Washington, D.C. In addition to the university’s main campus, there are two further campuses located in Mount Vernon and Ashburn areas of Washington, D.C.

Program Listing


Frequently Asked Question(s)

Q:What are the various Graduate schools for degrees in George Washington University?

A:The George Washington University has five graduate schools focusing on different subject areas - Graduate School of Political Management, Graduate School of Public Policy and Public Administration, Medical School, Law School and Graduate School of Education and Human Development.

Q:I want to study for the George Washington University Post Graduate degree program. Can I get this education on financial aid?

A:The George Washington University offers the post graduate degrees with financial aids. These include scholarships, grants, work-study and student loan plans. To be eligible for the scholarships and grants you need to apply much prior to the deadline, to maximize your chances of approval.

Ask your Question

* All Fields are Required
Call Now(877) 721-2529